Tags

Wednesday, May 23: This week I was pleasantly surprised to be awarded the Kreativ Blogger Award by restlessjo ~ roaming, at home and abroad.  Thank you, Jo, for thinking of me and for your kind words and support!!

The rules for this award are:
1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link back to their blog
2. Share 7 things about yourself
3. Pass the award to 7 nominees

Here are the 7 things about myself:

1. I love to watch foreign and quirky movies.  Some of my favorites are Me and You and Everyone We Know, Bread & Tulips, Apres Vous, and Bungee Jumping of Their Own, among many others.

2.  I have a real weakness for cheese.  I don’t know how I will ever give it up, although I’ve promised my two vegan sons that when I come back to the USA in August, I will go vegan for the month I’m there.  I’m not making any promises for after I leave, although I’m hoping to slightly cure this unhealthy addiction.

3. I love to travel, but of course everyone who reads my blog knows this about me already.  I love the whole process, from reading novels and non-fiction books set in the destination, watching films, perusing guidebooks and the internet, looking at photographs.  I love plotting out my itinerary, finding charming places to stay and deciding which sights to see.   Once I’m on my travels, I love meeting locals and fellow travelers, immersing myself in the culture and the food, noticing everything around me.  And then I love taking pictures and writing my blog about my experiences.

4.  I love a road trip.  There’s nothing more fun than hopping in my car and heading off into the horizon.

5.  I have three wonderful children who haven’t yet found their way in life.  Sadly, they’ve taken after me; I’m still trying to figure out my life!  Sarah, 28, is hoping to one day be a food writer and sporadically attends college classes; Alex, 21, who loves exercise and healthy eating, doesn’t know where he is going; and Adam, 19, who feels strongly about animal rights and being a vegan, is just beginning college.  I love them all dearly, but I worry about them finding their way.

6. One time I climbed up a steep mountain, called Pilot’s Rock in Oregon, and when I got to the top, I was in tears because I didn’t think I could ever get down again.  I was convinced my husband and his friend would have to get a helicopter to come and rescue me.  I only made it down by both of them standing beneath me as I climbed down, promising to catch me if I went tumbling.

7. I used to be afraid of EVERYTHING!  When Skylab was going to fall out of the sky in the late 1970s, I was convinced it was going to fall right on me!  I remember watching TV all day to see where it would fall and I kept looking at the ceiling waiting for it to crash through.  Strange thing though, as much as I used to be afraid of things, now I’m hardly afraid of anything.

Here are my 7 nominees for the Kreativ Blogger Award:

Serendipity – Laura is a wife and mom of 3 who loves photography, art, music, writing, singing, travel, movies … and so many other things.

Quirky Culture – The Culture Vulture is an eager observer of the quirky peculiarities of 21st century culture.

3rdculturechildren – A family of five’s impressions and feelings about life, friends, jobs, and travels while globetrotting with the Foreign Service.

Fancy That… Fancy This – Ameena gives a hilarious take on motherhood and marriage.

The Urge to Wander – Madhu conveys some of her passion for travel & inspires her readers to spread their wings.

Where’s my backpack? – Ailsa has lived in many places and traveled to many more.  She brings her readers along on a fantastic journey!

the unbearable lightness of being me. – She describes herself as follows: I am just another dust sentiently moving on the vastness of the Earth, employing all my senses with Mother Nature – bestowing the power I owe to the Greater One… confirming my infinitely small human existence.  A beautiful blog with lovely photography…

Thanks again for the nomination, restlessjo!!