Tags

, ,

Wednesday, May 23:  Ailsa of Where’s my backpack? has put out a challenge for the week… SUMMER.  She writes:  “I love finding out about great places waiting to be discovered, and it doesn’t have to be an exotic location, either. What’s everyday in your part of the world is exotic to someone who doesn’t live there.”

When she first introduced this challenge, I kept thinking of summer in the USA.  Water skiing on lakes, lazing in hammocks, reading under an umbrella on the beach, walking through the woods, eating ice cream from an old-fashioned ice-cream shop. Nag’s Head, North Carolina or Hilton Head, South Carolina or Eaglesmere, Pennsylvania.  Even though it’s really summer year-round in Oman, I had a hard time thinking of the country’s “summer” offerings.  Because in my mind, true summer is something that I can’t really find here.

But.  I opened my mind and I picked one scene from the gardens of Wekan to post.  Summer is greenery, heat, blooming fruits and flowers, butterflies and a haze in the air.  That’s summer, and of course, it’s always here in Oman, right in front of me.

Maybe you can tell I’m a little homesick…. 😦

In summer, the song sings itself.  ~William Carlos Williams

