Tags

,

Thursday, April 25:  Today I drop by the Lulu Hypermarket in Nizwa to pick up a few items.  I’m shocked to see long lines down each aisle of the huge store.  Omani families are lined up with grocery carts overflowing with food and clothing items.  It looks like people are getting ready to hunker down in their homes for some natural disaster.  Each line goes all the way down a different aisle.  I have never in my 18 months seen the Lulu like this so I ask what’s happening.  It turns out today is Pay Day in Oman!

I have to wait a half hour in my line.  One man stands at the front near the register ready to pounce.  He looks like he’s waiting for the perfect opportunity to cut in line at any moment.  As I am never one to allow myself to be stepped on, I tell him, pointing to the end of the line of at least 15 families: “Sir, the line is back there. You will NOT be getting in front of us.”  He says, “Don’t worry.  I’m not planning to do that.”  The next thing I know he has moved to another line and promptly cuts in front of someone else.  Argh!!

the Lulu Hypermarket in Nizwa

the Lulu Hypermarket in Nizwa

Crowds lined up at the registers

Crowds lined up at the registers

Lulu Hypermarket in Arabic

Lulu Hypermarket in Arabic