Tags

, , , ,

Sunday, May 19: The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is EscapeDepending on your current mood and headspace, or time in your life, this word can evoke different emotions and conjure a variety of images. Maybe the end of your semester is near, and you yearn for vacation and release: the desire to disappear and run away, the need to unplug and shut off. Or perhaps you imagine quite the opposite: Lost in a maze. Stuck in a room, feeling boxed in, with the worst company. Frustrated in your own thoughts, wondering what to do next.

This week is final exams and then the spring semester is over at the University of Nizwa.  I still have 39 days left until my last day of work, and I’m not sure what the university will give me to do to keep me busy.  All I know is that I’m waiting to escape my job here in Oman and return home to the USA for good.  On the way, I plan to make a month-long stop in Spain and Portugal.

Here are some pictures of the good old U.S.A., taken last summer at Deep Creek Lake in Maryland.  We won’t be going to Deep Creek this summer, but it does represent the quintessential escape for me.  Lots of green, cool weather, a beautiful lake, boating, swimming and kayaking.  Hanging out with my family playing games and just general relaxing.  Oh, how I yearn to escape!

Life jackets and kayak paddles ready to go

Life jackets and kayak paddles ready to go

these feet are ready for an escape

these feet are ready for an escape

kayaks at Deep Creek Lake

kayaks at Deep Creek Lake

Deep Creek Lake

Deep Creek Lake

an escape into a nice relaxing hot tub on the deck of the cabin

an escape into a nice relaxing hot tub on the deck of the cabin

perfect escape, a drink, smoke and computer on the deck at Deep Creek Lake

perfect escape, a drink, smoke and computer on the deck at Deep Creek Lake

