Tags

Thursday, December 27: My newfound friends from Abu Dhabi, Anne and Mark, pass through Nizwa again on their way back from spending Christmas and celebrating their anniversary at the Sifawy Boutique Hotel near Muscat.  I meet them at Nizwa souq and we wander around shopping.

Anne and Mark at Nizwa souq

Anne and Mark at Nizwa souq

Anne is preparing to go home to Nevada for three weeks to celebrate some family birthdays and she wants to buy some gifts to take home.  I wander along with her and Mark, seeing many things I’d love to buy: colorful lanterns, jewelry, colorful beaded strands with camels, jewelry boxes, and gorgeous photography books featuring Oman.

a new lantern shop at Nizwa souq.  I would love one of these.... :-)

a new lantern shop at Nizwa souq. I would love one of these…. 🙂

But as you will see when I post my New Year’s Resolutions on Tuesday, I am trying not to spend money on anything non-essential.  For once, I just enjoy looking.

Anne and Mark and the pottery of Nizwa souq

Anne and Mark and the pottery of Nizwa souq

It’s such an easy-going morning, I feel like we’ve been friends for years.  Anne buys some jewelry, a walking stick, bead strands, and three pots handmade in Oman that you hang on the wall.

Anne trying to decide on which pottery to buy

Anne trying to decide on which pottery to buy

I loved experiencing the fun of shopping vicariously through her, since I’m on a spending freeze.

We come across these lively old men having a little tea and dates in the souq.

relaxing in the souq

relaxing in the souq

After our shopping expedition, we find a little restaurant where Mark orders fish, Anne orders vegetable curry, and I order an omelet.  Anne and I get our food while poor Mark waits patiently.  After we’re about halfway through our meal, the server comes to inform us that there is a problem with the fish.  It’s “not awailable,” he tells Mark.  Oh well, Mark’s been nibbling on Anne’s curry and is fine with that.

After lunch, they head back to Abu Dhabi.  I invite them to come back and go to the Ibra ruins and Jebel Akhdar and the Sahab.  They invite me to come visit them in Abu Dhabi.  I hope to have more to report on this continuing saga!