Saturday, January 26:  Yesterday, I arrived safely back to Muscat from Nepal to find my car battery was dead. 😦  I called AAA Arabia, who sent someone directly to start my car. Lucky for me!  After arriving home in Nizwa 1 1/2 hours later, I unloaded all my stuff, unpacked, made a huge pile of laundry, and started loading pictures on my computer.  I’ll start posting soon about my trip to Nepal, but it won’t be on this blog.  I’ll post on catbird in south asia, beginning sometime today.  Insha’allah.

in the garden at Kathmandu Guest House, Kathmandu, Nepal

in the garden at Kathmandu Guest House, Kathmandu, Nepal

I got a surprise on my return home: we have a holiday today for the Prophet’s birthday!   Thank goodness for small favors. I am definitely not looking forward to returning to work.

As of today, I have exactly 5 months remaining in Oman.  I will make the best of it, but I am really of the mindset now to return home to the USA.  I will use the next 5 months to explore the remainder of Oman, as well as revisit some favorite spots.  I’ll spend time with my friends here.  And I’ll begin work in earnest on my novel.  I’ll also start reading and planning for my upcoming trip this summer to Spain and Portugal.  I’m thinking now of omitting Morocco from my trip; maybe I feel this way because I’m exhausted from travel at this moment.

I hope to catch up with all my favorite bloggers soon, but I hope you’ll be patient with me.  I haven’t forgotten any of you!

