a tour to Delphi…

greek wanderings

Monday, September 10:  For my last three days on the mainland, I have arranged tours with G.O. Tours.  Today’s tour is a two-day tour to Delphi – Meteora Monasteries.   I usually try to avoid tours because I hate getting stuck in large groups that include people I don’t like, I dislike the large-scale “tourist restaurants” where they invariably take you for meals, and I don’t like not having the freedom to linger in a place I find fascinating or to rush through a place I find boring.  Not only that, but I hate being captive on a bus that has no toilets.  Neither do I like having to stay in a group and listen to a long-winded tour guide.   I also get extremely irritated when the tour takes you to a large-scale tourist trap where they sell a bunch of overpriced souvenirs.

However, I decide now to…

View original post 1,525 more words

