Farewell Santorini!

greek wanderings

Saturday, September 8:  This morning I take my time checking out of Villa Galinia.  The ferry for Athens doesn’t leave until 6:40 this evening, so I have a long day ahead.   I linger over breakfast, reorganize and re-pack my suitcase with all my new purchases, and then go back into Fira, where I take a little walk through the white-washed village one last time.

All day today, the wind is howling and whistling over the island, a bright & cheery tempest.  I wonder if this is the “weather” that the tour company warned about when I decided to take the fast ferry tonight.

I stop for lunch at Mama’s House, a Rick Steves-recommended restaurant.   According to Steves, this is a good budget choice with unpretentious Greek fare.  I order some tzatziki, a yogurt, cucumber and garlic appetizer, and some eggplant rolls.   As these are both “starters,” I…

View original post 246 more words

