back to Oia for dinner.

greek wanderings

Wednesday, September 6:  After my shower at Villa Galinia, I head to Oia, AGAIN, to try to see the sunset.  This time I will arrive about an hour before; I hope to stake out a good seat at Skala, a lovely outdoor cafe overlooking the caldera, and hopefully, the sunset.

I arrive in plenty of time and take a seat at Skala, the Lonely Planet-recommended cafe that has an amazing view.  However, as soon as I arrive, I notice that, though the view is stupendous, it will NOT give me a view of the sunset.  As Skala sits on the inside edge of the northernmost tip of the caldera, it looks south.  The sunset will be further at the western tip of Oia.

I will need to eat and run.

I order red wine, as always, and some pasta with tomatoes and capers.  It is quite light…

View original post 366 more words

