lunchtime and drowsiness in Oia…

greek wanderings

Wednesday, September 5:  As the afternoon stretches on and heats up in Oia, I decide I better get something to eat before I keel over.  It hits me that I have been up since 5:00 a.m. for my travel from Crete, so I stop at a beautiful cafe overlooking the pristine village spilling down the caldera wall.  I want to eat, drink, and inhale the fresh air and the atmosphere that is Santorini.

The cafe is quiet except for two British couples who are having a feast nearby.  I order a Greek beer and some bruschetta, smothered with tomatoes, olives and feta cheese, and drizzled with olive oil.

I want a light snack because I am still hoping to have dinner at a restaurant here in Oia during sunset.  However, this plate of bruschetta, smothered in olive oil, turns out to be quite filling.  Plus, I should know better…

View original post 68 more words

