the first part of my visit to Oia, Santorini…

greek wanderings

Wednesday, September 5:  Even though I’m at the southernmost end of Santorini, I decide I will start my exploration at the northwestern-most tip, with Oia (pronounced ee-ah), and then work my way down.  I also decide I want to see the sun set at each point (north, center and south) in the three nights I am here.  I’ll start with sunset in Oia tonight; Thursday, I’ll watch sunset in Fira, and Friday night I’ll see the view from Akrotírion.  This is my plan, anyway.

So, I leave the hotel in my little car, and zip up the island.  I come to the crowded town of Fira, where I have to make my way slowly through throngs of young sun-bronzed European couples, hand in hand.  Numerous times on the road, I pass couples riding together on Quads/ATVs, motor scooters, mopeds, and motorbikes, their hair dancing in the wind.  After I…

View original post 323 more words

