my hotel in Santorini…

greek wanderings

Wednesday, September 5:  I arrive at my hotel, Villa Galinia, in Akrotírion within a half hour after I get my rental car.  I’m anxious to deposit my stuff and start exploring Santorini.  Akrotírion, as I said in an earlier post, is at the far southern end of Santorini, away from the bustle and crowds of Fira and the picturesque beauty of Oia.  Akrotírion has a different kind of beauty altogether, not like the whitewashed villages up north, but more like the earth-toned buildings and landscape of Crete.  I like the area’s windswept beauty, its southern view of the sea and the caldera, and its relative seclusion from the crowds.  This place becomes my peaceful little oasis while in Santorini.

The owners are a married Greek couple.  The wife is sweet and welcoming, despite the fact that she neither speaks nor understands much English.  She takes good care of…

View original post 60 more words

