one of my favorite places in Greece…

greek wanderings

Monday, September 3:  The sleeping at Barbara Studios is lovely, with a breeze billowing the curtains into the room and the chirping of birds in the courtyard.  I want to sleep in, but since I only have two days in Crete, I make myself get up and take a shower.  There is a little kitchenette in the hotel, a coffee-maker and toaster, bread and jam and orange juice in the refrigerator.  I shower, prepare the little breakfast, and think about what I will do with the day ahead.

I head out into the streets of the old Venetian-Turkish quarter of Rethymno.  The town, which used to be inhabited by the Minoans as early as the 4th century BC, began a period of growth when the Venetian conquerors of the island (who ruled from 1210-1645) decided to put a commercial stop between Heraklion and Hania (also spelled Chania).  Today’s…

View original post 371 more words

