my journey to Crete and a little travel angst…

greek wanderings

Sunday, September 2:  In this post, you will find out just how lazy and impatient I am.  You’ll also see what a poor planner I can be and you’ll wonder how on earth I manage to travel alone.  In an earlier post, I wrote about how when I first arrive in a new city, I usually opt for the hotel pickup, no matter what the price, just because I don’t feel like negotiating unfamiliar metro or bus systems.  I also am hesitant to take a taxi right off the street because I have no idea what the price should be and I fear I will be ripped off or taken someplace where con-men will try to swindle me.  In India, especially, my friend and I were warned about this, and we ended up standing at a rat-infested train station at midnight in Jodhpur, waiting for a hotel pickup that…

View original post 1,987 more words

