my last visit to ancient places in Athens….

greek wanderings

Sunday, September 2:  After my lunch and making my way through the markets, I head to Kerameikos, the potters’ quarter of the city, from which the English word “ceramic” is derived.  This was also the site of an important cemetery from the 12th century BC to Roman times, as well as numerous funerary sculptures erected along the road out of the city towards Eleusis.

It is quite a long walk in the sun along a pedestrian walkway, and I am struck by all the graffiti on the walls along the path (See my earlier post: graffiti in athens: youth crying out to be heard in the midst of economic crisis?).  When I go inside, I am happy to escape into the air-conditioned Kerameikos Museum, a small neoclassical building that houses an extensive collection of burial-related artifacts, varying from large-scale marble sculpture to funerary urns, jewelry, toys, etc…

View original post 246 more words

