Street scenes of Athens and happy returns!

greek wanderings

Saturday, September 1:  I continue on the Athens Open Tour after I finish walking all around the Acropolis and its slopes.  We pass the Temple of Zeus, Hadrian’s Arch, Parliament and the National Gardens, Syntagma Square, the Bernaki Museum, the Presidential Residence, the Panathenaic Stadium, the National Library, Omonia Square, the National Archeological Museum, and Karaiskaki Square. I’m intrigued by the street scenes I see along the way.  As we drive past all these places, I take pictures, not really knowing always what is what.  Here are a few scenes from the open air top of the bus.

Finally at Thession, I disembark so I can walk down the main central shopping street: Ermou.  I intend to buy some clothes just in case my suitcase doesn’t arrive, since I am leaving for Crete tomorrow.   I have continued to check my phone in case I’ve missed a call from Egypt…

View original post 944 more words

