Wednesday, July 11:  Today Kathy (aka “Speedy Gonzales”) has a birthday party at her new digs near the College of Technology.  It is of course a celebration of her birthday, but also a kind of housewarming because she just moved in to this flat last week.  We come bearing platters and bowls of food, and plenty of good cheer.

the birthday girl being her shy self…. 🙂

She has asked me to bring my special roasted vegetable dish.  To make this, I chop a variety of vegetables: peppers, eggplant, Oman pumpkin, potatoes, onion and zucchini, and lay them out on a huge sheet of aluminum foil.  Next I mix Lipton Onion Soup Mix with vegetable oil and pour it over the vegetables, then seal the packet.

Linda Sue, Marcia & Kathy

Chopping all those vegetables takes quite some time, and after wrapping them all up, I go to light my gas oven.  Lo and behold, I find I have run out of gas.  It’s about 5:30 and I panic because Malcolm is due to pick me up at 6:20 to drive me to Karsha to pick up my GMC Terrain; its fuel pump has just been replaced.  The party is to start at 7:00 pm and these vegetables need to bake for about 45 minutes.  So I rush over to Kathy’s, about a 20 minute drive each way, in Mario’s car (which I have custody of while he is on vacation) to put them in her oven, only to find out she doesn’t know how to operate it.  We call Antonio, who is asleep in his flat upstairs, wake him and run up to put them in his oven.  Then I speed home so I can meet Malcolm.  At home I have to change my shirt because in carrying this packet of vegetables, grease leaks out all over the shirt I am wearing!!

Marcia ~ looking pretty & refreshed after her long vacation… 🙂

Malcolm drops me at the GMC place, where service manager Mohammed from Bangalore tells me I owe him 155 rials.  I reluctantly hand over the money and take my car, making it to Kathy’s late for her fine celebration.

Malcolm ~ he didn’t bring his guitar but he’s a singer too!

Whew!

Husam, Bev and Julian

People arrive to a cool house with a nice spread of food.  We chat and nibble.  Some of us imbibe.  After awhile Matt brings out his guitar and sings away; we all join in with our incredible voices and take a nostalgic trip through the history of rock and roll.

Matt with guitar, Malcolm singing over his shoulder, Hussam & company

Matt’s song notebooks ~ “Brown-eyed girl”

Matt strumming away with Kathy, Angela & Martin in the background

Matt’s music books

A fun night for all!  Thanks to Kathy for hosting her own birthday party!

Happy Birthday, dear Kathy!

