Tags

Tuesday, July 3:  Here are Cee’s Life Questions for this week.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

I have gone before to parties where I didn’t know anyone, and sometimes it’s worked out, but mostly I am shy and not good in crowds, so I feel too awkward being alone.  Here in Oman, I’m sure there are lots of open parties in Muscat, but I never go because I don’t want to go alone.  Tonight I’m actually attending a cocktail hour with a group called InterNations at the Intercontinental in Muscat, but that’s only because my friend Barb invited me.  I wouldn’t venture out to this if I had to go alone.

If you were the original designer of one existing corporate logo, which one would you select?

One of my favorite places to spend an afternoon is the clothing store anthropologie.  Part of what I love about anthropologie is the store’s overall design, with its whimsical window displays, funky clothes, 50s-era housewares, and the eclectic mix of music that drifts over you as you shop.  Sometimes I go in and wander around for an hour just perusing and relaxing and listening to the music.  I am transported by the store’s ambiance to an exotic imaginary world (usually Paris or some other romantic European city) and then I walk out with too many purchases in hand.  The store has a wonderful marketing strategy ~ to transport people to their dream lives!  Here is their logo, which also tells a lot about the store.

From anthropologie’s Facebook page: Anthropologie offers a one-of-a-kind and compelling shopping experience that makes women feel beautiful, hopeful and connected.  We invite you into our world with the hope you take a deep breath and explore until your heart’s content.  Although you enjoy the clever details and fine craftsmanship of our products, you come to us for more than that. You come to escape and to connect, to spend time and to make time.  Complex as you are, you remain our inspiration and because of this, we endeavor to bring you an unimagined experience.

If you could be a student of any university in the world right now, where would you enroll?  Irregardless of which university, assume they teach what you want to study.

I would want to go to Harvard University just because it’s in Cambridge, Massachusetts which is one of the prettiest places in the USA.  I love the northeast of America.

If you had to spend one weekend alone in a single public building or institution, which building would you choose?

I’d spend the day in the Musée d’Orsay in Paris.  This museum is known for its collection of impressionist and post-impressionist masterpieces (the largest in the world) by such painters such as Monet, Manet, Degas, Renoir, Cezanne, Seurat, Sisley, Gauguin and Van Gogh.  I’m a big fan of all these painters and would love to spend a weekend in their company.

