Tags

Tuesday, July 3:  This week I stepped out of my comfort zone and joined a group called InterNations. This group, InterNations: Connecting Global Minds, is an online community of expats in over 300 communities across the globe.  I joined the Muscat community, and now I can attend social and networking events.

Tonight Barb and I went to a cocktail hour at Trader Vic’s at the Intercontinental in Muscat.  There were over 200 people attending, and it was a way to get to know some new people.

I have been a member of such groups in the Washington, D.C. area, such as The International Club in DC.  I really am not good at mingling and making small talk in these kinds of situations.  However, I challenged myself to step out of my comfort zone and attend, and to try to strike up conversations with new people.  I met a fair number of expats who work in Oman, doing anything from teaching to practicing law for oil and gas companies.  It was good to do something out of my normal routine.

Since I’ve now joined this group, I can now attend future events.  None are planned before I leave on my holiday August 2, but hopefully I can attend more events like this after I return to Oman on September 15.

If you’d like to participate in Inside Out Cafe’s No Comfort Zone Challenge, please check it out at No Comfort Zone – 2012 Weekly Challenge.

Marge Katherine writes:  Whether you decide to take a different route home, listen to country music instead of rock and roll,  read a book by a new author, drink a new type of wine or work on a crossword puzzle, visit a new website, increases your daily steps, try a different workout routine, listen to new singer, try a new food, attend a poetry reading or WHATEVER …. do it and share it on your blog!

Some things you choose to do may be dramatic; most things will be changing the way you usually do things like brushing your teeth with your non-dominant hand or listening to a different radio station as you drive.

