Tags

Sunday, June 10: Here are Cee’s Life Questions for this week.

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying and joyful life than yours?

Being in my 50s, I think most people my age have a very satisfying life and are on a level even with me.  It depends I guess on what things people are looking for.  I see my friends and family in this age bracket very happy because their children are graduating from college or getting married or having children.  They seem to enjoy becoming grandparents.  I also look forward to all that stuff with my children, but I can see that looking to my children to provide happiness could leave me with a deficit, as they will become increasingly busy with their own lives.

My life living and working abroad gives me a lot of satisfaction, but it can also be lonely.  Overall though, I enjoy every adventure I have, and I never tire of exploring new lands and cultures.  Many people may think I have a really joyful life, and I do, but I think they have wonderful lives too.  So, I think being this age, where our kids are venturing out on their own, leaves us with a lot of freedom to follow our own dreams and explore the world.  Generally, I see most of us with the same general level of satisfaction and joy.

Which would you rather have, 100 million dollars or true love?

Tough question.  I believe I’ve had “true love” before, but love is changeable and eventually turns into a deep abiding respect and companionship.  Which I guess is still love! The problem is in defining love and in holding and keeping it.  I would like to have true love in my life, but I think I would prefer the 100 million dollars.  Because I’d like to know I’d never have to worry about money again.  And then I could travel all over the world before I die.

If you had to cancel one month of the year forevermore, so that period of time no longer existed, which month would go? And why?

August, for sure.  Except this August, when I get to go on vacation and return to the USA to see my family. But generally, I don’t like the heat and the malaise that comes with August, the fact that everyone is on vacation, and that there is nothing to do unless you’re on vacation too. On top of that it’s miserably hot.  I’m not sure why, but I often get depressed in August.  Possibly because, as a child, I used to be bored with summer by August and I’d be looking forward to starting a new school year, a new beginning.  I’m always happiest in October & November, so I look forward to the arrival of those months.

You’re given one million dollars.  What do you spend it on?

I would first buy a cute house for myself on some body of water.  Whether in the United States, Turkey or some other country, I don’t know.   I would decorate it in a funky, bohemian style with all the stuff I’ve collected in my travels.  Then I would depart from that house as often as possible to travel.  I’d take my children along with me.  I’d always be happy to return home after each trip and sink back into my routines and to spend time with my family.  I don’t really care about having a lot of things in life, but I’d want to have a dependable car and be able to buy funky clothes every once in a while from my favorite store, anthropologie.

A million dollars is really not that much money, so the rest I would invest and try to live on the income.

