Tags

Sunday, June 3: Here are Cee’s Life Questions for this week:

What made you smile today?

I smiled, and actually had a good laugh, with my friend Mario today while telling him how a leech sucked the blood out of me on Friday at a swimming hole at Wadi Muaydin.  I was there just lounging in a pool with my friend Kathy when a leech got into my bathing suit and latched on to me in a very strange place!  Ouch!!

Here are the pools at Wadi Muaydin where Kathy and I floated for about two hours ~ sweet relief from the heat…

Here’s the actual pool where the leech slithered into my bathing suit… YIKES!

Have any hidden talents?

I have a talent for working with numbers.  Nothing complicated, mind you, but I used to be a banker for 12 years so it’s no problem for me to use Excel spreadsheets and to reconcile bank statements, prepare forecasts and analyze data.  As a matter of fact, in my last job before I started teaching abroad, I worked as part of a team at MSI (Management Systems International) on a huge analysis of USAID trade capacity-building projects all over the world, which involved a lot of statistical analysis with thousands and thousands of numbers.

Are you usually late, early, or right on time?

I’m usually right on time.  And I get really annoyed with people who are late, especially habitually so.

What is the difference between being alive and truly living? 

Being alive just means waking up in the morning and going about your daily business, without any joy or appreciation for what is all around you. Going through the motions. You have blinders on to the wonders of life that are all around you, ripe for the taking.  Truly living is being present to the moment, seeing the wonderful things that are around you, and appreciating them.  I’ve had periods in my life where I’ve just been alive, especially from 2002-2007, which was a particularly rough time for me.  After 2007, I started to feel more alive, and now most days I feel like I am truly living.  Of course, there are other days where I still feel like I’m not truly living, like I’m just making it through the day.  But.  Overall, I try hard to be joyful and to be grateful for the many blessings in my life.


