Tags

Saturday, May 19:  Another Six Word Saturday….

EVENING ESCAPE: MY LIFE IN RUINS

Work today is a non-event.  It’s a reprieve, a gift of time to take a breather before I have to invigilate for final exams tomorrow and then mark papers for the two following days.  Because all my continuous assessment marks are turned in and there is nothing to do but wait for the exams to be administered and marked, I leave work early today and hunker down in my air-conditioned flat, where I spend the afternoon relaxing, reading Eurydice Street, napping and watching the movie My Life in Ruins.  In this movie, a travel guide rediscovers her romantic side on a trip around Greece.

Sometimes I feel my life has taken on its own life, unbeknownst to me.  It has led me to this far-flung place on the planet, away from family and friends, and into a strange and foreign culture.  It wasn’t the life I originally intended for myself.  Still.  Here it is and I am living it, among the date plantations, the wadis, and the ruins of Oman.   In September, I’ll escape to Greece, where I’m sure I’ll encounter more ruins, along with beauty and adventure, and hopefully pleasure.  Possibly romance?  My life among the ruins…. 🙂

Poupi Kakas: Everyone should take the time for a coffee.

