Tags

, ,

Saturday, May 12: Today I’m participating for the first time in Show My Face‘s Six Word Saturday.  Here’s her description of this challenge: “The idea came from a book [her husband bought her] for Christmas. The book is: Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure and it was edited by Smith Magazine. The book is based on Ernest Hemingway’s short story, “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” The idea is to tell a story or describe your life in six words and the book is a collection of these. A few examples from the book jacket: “Found true love, married someone else.” “After Harvard had baby with crackhead.” It’s interesting reading and has set me thinking in many directions so it might be worth checking out if that’s your kind of thing.”

She goes on to say: “All that’s necessary to participate is to describe your life (or something) in a phrase using just six words. Feel free to explain or not explain. Add an image, a video, a song, nothing. I love seeing what everyone does with their entries.”

Here’s my first entry for this challenge:

SWEET RELIEF: SPRING SEMESTER WINDING DOWN!

All I can say is that it’s been a long & grueling semester at the university.  Many of my students were misplaced into Level 3, instead of the more appropriate Level 2.  It has been an uphill battle teaching Present and Past Perfect, Modal Verbs and Active & Passive to students that haven’t even grasped Present Simple.  I marked 513 essays, too many of which were incoherent.  The weather has been getting hotter and hotter, with temperatures creeping up to 106 degrees Fahrenheit.  Moodiness among the 27 girls in my class has been rampant; I’ve also had quite a few discipline problems with a certain 8 students.  The other 19 girls have been lovely and dedicated, but it was tough even for my hard-workers to deal with the disruptions from this bunch of problem students.   My 6 words above express my sentiments succinctly.

university artwork

