Tags

Sunday, April 22:  Jakesprinter’s challenge for this Sunday is Stairway: “Stairway or simply stairs are names for a construction designed to bridge a large vertical distance by dividing it into smaller vertical distances, called steps. Stairways may be straight, round, or may consist of two or more straight pieces connected at angles.”

It just so happened that I posted a bunch of my favorite stairway pictures a couple of weeks ago for Sherene’s 52 Pick Up theme of “Things are looking up!”  Also, I recently put up a bunch of other stairway pictures on random posts. I’m all stairwayed out!!

So, this time, I’ll post one from a different angle, at Bulguksa Temple in Gyeongju, South Korea.  The temple was completed in 774 and served as a center of Silla Buddhism and of prayer for the protection of the country from foreign invasion.  Sadly, prayer didn’t save the temple as Japanese invaders burned it to the ground in 1593; it was finally restored in 1973.

Bulguksa Temple in Gyeongju, South Korea

Looking through these pictures this morning is making me miss Korea… 🙂

