Tags

Sunday, April 22: Here are Cee’s life questions for week #20:

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

I was really old and dowdy when I was in my 30s.  It was the time I was raising my two boys and I thought I had to fit into this motherly and mature role.  Now I feel much younger than I felt when I was in my 30s; I actually think I’m about as adventurous and fun-loving and energetic as I was at 22.  So, I’d say inside, I’m still 22!!

me in my early 20s in Idaho

me in my early 20s in Idaho

What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you?

My mother suffered from various illnesses in her life, and I felt a lot of pressure to help take care of my four little siblings while she was in and out of hospitals.  At a time when my own mother couldn’t take care of me, or give me the love or attention I craved, my grandmother on my father’s side gave me unending love and attention.  She invited me to stay with her many weekends.  We browsed together in fabric stores amidst bolts of textiles in a sea of colors and textures.  We’d pore through pattern books, pick a pattern, and then my grandmother, with infinite patience and love, would help me to sew my own clothes.  I actually grew to love sewing at that time, just because it was time spent with her (I admit I hate to sew now, but I still love textiles!) Afterwards, she and my grandfather would take me out to eat my favorite meal of fried shrimp.  She was the kindest and most loving person I have ever known and I still have a recurring dream about her.  I dream that she is still alive to this day, and all these years no one has thought to tell me.  She died 30 years ago.

My grandmother and grandfather ~ I was so lucky to have them in my life...

My grandmother and grandfather ~ I was so lucky to have them in my life…

What was your favorite childhood television program?

I loved Father Knows Best.  The show aired from 1954-1960, but I must have watched the re-runs because I would have only been 0-5 years old at that time ~ too young to “get it.”  Margaret, the mother in the family, was portrayed as the voice of reason in the family, but Jim, played by Robert Young, was a thoughtful father who offered wise advice whenever any of his three children had a problem. Jim was a salesman and manager of the General Insurance Company in Springfield, while Margaret was a housewife. When the two eldest children, Betty and Bud, graduated from high school and attended college, the youngest daughter, little Kathy (like me, except I’m with a “C”!) was in high school by the final season.

It always had a great story and almost every episode made me cry!!

Which cooking utensil (other than the usual pots and pans etc) would you miss the most?

I love the whisk!!  Especially the way it gets all the lumps out of any mixture… 🙂  It would be a useful thing to use on your life in general.

