Tags

Sunday, April 8: HAPPY EASTER, EVERYONE!! MAY MANY BLESSINGS BE ON YOU THIS BEAUTIFUL DAY! 🙂

Here are Cee’s Life Questions for this week!  If you’d like to participate, please check out: Cee’s Life Photography Blog: Share Your World Week 18.

Do you play video/computer games?  Which one(s) or most recent?

I never play video or computer games, but maybe I should explore playing Solitaire or some game like that.  I do love to play games though, especially board games or acting-out games.  My favorite board game is Ticket to Ride; I spent many cold nights in Korea playing this strategy game with my friends Anna & Seth.  I also love acting-out games like Guesstures and Charades and even Pictionary.  Finally, I love games of luck or chance like Yahtzee, which I spent many of my teenage years playing with my close friend Rosie.

When writing by hand do you prefer to use a pencil or pen?

I always use a pen, even though it makes a mess when I make corrections.  Frankly I’m too lazy to use an eraser and I don’t like how smudged pencil-writing gets over time!

What has surprised you about blogging?

I’m surprised at how much I actually enjoy the process.  When I first started I had a hard time forcing myself to write, and it seemed somewhat of a burden, but now I really enjoy thinking of fun things to do so I’ll have something to write about, picking photos to upload, the actual process of writing, and looking for quotes to pepper my stories.  I’m a storyteller at heart and so it gives me the perfect forum to tell my stories.

If you had a shelf for your three most special possessions (not including people or animals), what would you put on it?

I don’t know that I have three MOST SPECIAL (I guess I’m reading “expensive,” though I’m sure Cee doesn’t mean this!) possessions, as I don’t think I’ve ever bought anything really expensive in my life.  However, I would have to say my favorite three things are from my travels.  One is the welcome door hanging I bought in Jaisalmer, India.  I’m always a sucker for colorful textiles, and this is one of them.  I guess I would have to hang it on the front of the shelf.

a welcome hanging from Jaisalmer, India

Again, with my weakness for color, I bought one of these lamps from this shop in Istanbul. I love the colors and that it will always remind me of Turkey.  This I would have to sit up on the shelf where it would spread its bejeweled light over my other special possessions. 🙂

The third thing would probably be a tarnished red & gold Buddha from Cambodia that is flat on the back; it’s meant to hang on a wall.  I don’t have a picture of this as it’s on my wall in my Virginia house.

Ok, thanks to Rural Route Runner: Share Your World Week 18, I have to change my answer!! She mentioned her university degree as her prized possession.  It’s funny how much I take my education for granted, now that I have it.  But I really should never forget all the hard work and dedication I put into earning my Master’s degree in International Commerce & Policy in 2008 from George Mason University’s School of Public Policy.  I don’t know how on earth I can forget anyway since I still owe about $25,000 in student loans for that Master’s degree.  I was actually really proud of myself for going back to school at the age of 50, an age when most people wouldn’t think it worthwhile!! So, I would have to say that degree goes on my shelf of prized possessions!!

Thanks again to Cee for another set of great questions!  🙂

