Tags

,

Thursday, March 15:  This morning I go for a walk at 7:30 a.m.  All this “winter” in Oman, the mornings have usually been cool, even though it always gets hot every afternoon throughout the year.  Today, at this early hour, it is already hot, and it suddenly hits me that summer is probably here to stay.

the entrance to my walking trail in nizwa

the entrance to my walking trail in nizwa

grasses along the trail

bits of green in the desert

Word has it from people who have been here during the summer that temperatures regularly reach 50 degrees Celsius, or 122 Fahrenheit. When I arrived here in September, the temperatures were about 41 Celsius, or 106 Fahrenheit.  That was miserable enough.

spurts of green in the brown hills

I don’t know how I’m going to deal with the extreme summers, except to stay huddled up under my air conditioner, or swimming in a pool or at the beach, or going snorkeling.  For someone who is not a summer person, I wonder why on earth I have chosen to live in a place where it’s basically summer all the time, even in “winter!”

500 meters and a tuft of green

One person who’s been here for many years likened summers in Oman to winters in the Northeast USA; you get cabin fever because you don’t want to step foot out of your house; you stray no further than a few feet from the air conditioning units in your flat!

rock inhabitants

I miss the four seasons of my home in Virginia!  I also miss green and forests of big deciduous trees.  I miss a lot about America, which is truly a beautiful country.  We are so lucky to have citizenship in a country with the most varied and amazing landscapes imaginable.  I count myself blessed.

interesting colors and striations on the rock hills

Never mind.  I’m here and I try to have a positive attitude about all that Oman has to offer, which is a lot.  Don’t get me wrong, Oman is quite beautiful in its own right, even though brown is the prevailing color.  In this post, I would like to share with you the walk I take at least 5-6 mornings/ evenings a week.  It’s on a 4km paved trail, marked with little yellow arches every kilometer.  Rocky hills line one side of the trail, while a road borders the other.  I’m always amazed at the little grasses and flowers that manage to take root and grow in such an arid and unkind climate.  I like to open my eyes, and take in the little sprays of green that burst out of the rocks.

the 1 kilometer archway

So, here we go.  Come along on my morning walk.  Learn to sweat.  Learn to love the heat.  Because it is a fact of life in Oman.  There is no escape.

a little yellow bush

“Once again there was the desert, and that only.”  ~ Stephen King, The Gunslinger

the solitary house along the trail

delicate little white flowers that reflect the sunlight

the mountain across the wadi in Firq

returning to the beginning

across the wadi, the town of Firq

another touch of green

