Tags

Wednesday, March 14: I’ve found yet another fun challenge in the blog world!!  This challenge is created by a lady on a blog called “Rois.”  This creative lady challenges her fellow bloggers with a song title for interpretation each Wednesday.  I know that most of these challenges are for photographers, and though I’d like to consider myself a photographer, I don’t think I have yet developed that artistic “eye” that would make me a true artiste!!  The whole exercise is fun for me nonetheless!  What I do to entertain myself while living in a foreign country… 🙂

Her song title this week is  “Pink” by Aerosmith.  I love the stanza of the song quoted below; as soon as these words came to me, a picture from South Korea jumped to the forefront of my mind.

You could be my flamingo
‘Cause pink, it’s a new kinda lingo
Pink, like a deco umbrella
Ffff, it’s kink that you don’t ever tell her
Yeah, pink, it was love at first sight
Then pink when I turn out the light
Yeah, pink gets me high as a kite
And I think everything is going to be alright
No matter what we do tonight

a PINK "love motel" in South Korea

There are motels in Korea known as “love motels.”  Often a love motel has these rubber fringed curtains similar to those found at a car wash; they hang halfway down over the entrance to the motel parking lot.  This is so that people driving by cannot see whose cars are in the parking lots ~ to keep sexual liaisons private.  Often young Koreans come here to be alone, since they often live in their family homes until they marry.  Rooms are also used for extramarital affairs and can even be rented by the hour, or so I’m told.  But they are also cheap places to stay for travelers, and as I traveled often in Korea just to keep my sanity, they were a godsend.  They’re comfortable & clean and they provide shampoo, conditioner, hair dryers, even toothbrushes and toothpaste (used by countless previous customers).  I stayed in them because they were cheap, and they had a cool art deco feel to them.  This one exemplifies the stanza above from “Pink.”  🙂

