Tags

Tuesday, February 28:  I just discovered Cee’s Life Photography Blog!  She has created a fun little challenge for bloggers.  She posts questions each week so all the bloggers out there can get to know each other.  I think I’m getting addicted to these challenges, such as the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge and Karma’s Photo Hunt.  I try to focus most of my blog posts on Oman, but sometimes it’s fun to venture into far-flung territories.  To spread my wings, to expand my mind and open my heart.   I am a dreamer, after all. Here are this week’s questions with my answers.

  1. What songs are included on the soundtrack to your life?  I have a lot of love-related songs in the soundtrack to my life, despite the fact that right now, I am bereft of love… 😦  Still, there is always hope: “I & Love & You” by the Avett Brothers, “I Think I’m in Love” by Beck, “Falling Slowly” by Glen Hansard, “Fragile Heart” by Jewel, “Dance Me to the End of Love” and “In My Secret Life,” both by Leonard Cohen, and “If You Want Me” by Marketa Irglova.  All these songs signify a readiness to find that special someone out there.  Maybe he is out there, somewhere.  “Silver Lining” by Rilo Kiley is the story of one of my truest loves, or so I thought at the time. “My Slumbering Heart” by Rilo Kiley describes the state I’m in right now in my love life.
    the dreamland of Cappadocia

    the dreamland of Cappadocia

    “The Gates of Istanbul” by Loreena McKennit holds a memory for me of lovely Turkey (both Istanbul and Göreme in Cappadocia).  “We May Never Pass this Way” by Seals & Croft is from the soundtrack of my high school years at York High School and the “fabulous foursome” who are still my dear friends to this day.  “Dreams on Fire” from the movie Slumdog Millionaire and “Photographs & Memories” by Jim Croce are about the inner me, the dreamer and the diarist and blogger.  I see myself, always, as a “Cinnamon Girl” by Neil Young & Crazy Horse.   “Hail to Whatever You Found in the Sunlight that Surrounds You” by Rilo Kiley is a mystery, that great unsolvable and breathtaking mystery that is my unfolding life and the lives of those who touch my life, especially my children and my family.

    one of many happy days in Turkey

  2. What is your favorite time of day?  The morning.  I love to get up early, sit in my pajamas with a cup of coffee and write.  Outside my window I have a tree full of feathered friends that greet me with birdsong. And, since my maiden name is actually Birdsong, that is fitting. 🙂
  3. What is your favorite part of the town/city you live in?  And what City and Country do you live?
    I live in Nizwa, Oman.  I am only temporarily here, as an English teacher at the university here.  My favorite part of Nizwa is probably the hotel, the Falaj Daris, where if ever I get lonely I can go and likely meet up with other Westerners.   Otherwise, it can get pretty darn lonely here sometimes.

    Nizwa, Oman ~ the view from Nizwa Fort over the town below

  4. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?
    Traveling and writing, together.  Traveling, and writing about it.  Writing in general: my blog, short stories, my novel, poems.  I’m trying ~ a wanna-be writer in the making. 🙂

If you’d like to read about my travels in Turkey, please visit  catbird in turkey… 🙂

