Tags

Thursday, February 23:  I am now officially hooked on the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.  After looking through lots of entries in this ongoing challenge, I’ve happened upon some amazing blogs.  One of my favorites is called Life in the Bogs by a talented photographer in Ohio named Robin.  I am so mesmerized that now I read her blog every morning along with my coffee!  Today, I found through her blog a photo challenge by someone named Karma: Karma’s When I Feel Like it Blog: February Photo Hunt.  Since I have hundreds of photos from my travels, and I also went on a hike Thursday on Jebel Akhdar (Green Mountain) in Oman, I decided to try to find, or take, some pictures that match her prompts.  Karma’s challenge words and my photos follow.

1) flake(s)

a tree on jebel akhdar with its bark flaking off

Because Oman is a desert country, with little water, the few trees you see often look like they’re dying, or struggling to keep themselves together. I found this one Thursday on Jebel Akdar (Green Mountain), with its bark flaking off.

2) bow

at the Ho Chi Minh complex in Hanoi, Vietnam

For bow, I’m going with the definition of “a bend or curve.”  This is a pond at the Ho Chi Minh complex in Hanoi.  I love the bow of this large balcony over the pond.

3) mug

two crazy folks mugging it up in Busan, South Korea

For this one, I looked for the closest thing I could find to a mug shot, and this is the best I could do!

4) row

rows of fortunes (??) at a temple in Kyoto, Japan

I love how everything in Japan is so neat and orderly. I could have chosen so many pictures for row from Japan, I had a hard time deciding which one to use.  I love the colors and the Japanese characters on these wooden fortunes.  These are all over temples in Japan, but since I don’t read Japanese, I’m only assuming they’re either fortunes or wishes.  I really would love to know what they actually are!

5) bun

chicken & dumplings at a restaurant in richmond, virginia

Here’s the definition of bun I found: any of a wide variety of variously shaped bread rolls, usually leavened and slightly sweetened or plain, sometimes containing spices, dried currants, etc.  Ok, admittedly, dumplings are not exactly buns, but this is the closest thing I could find. They are a type of bread, right?  Anyway, I make mine with Bisquick, which one also uses to make buns.  A close cousin?

6) heart shapes (for the month of valentines)

a heart-shaped leaf at Daegu Confucian Academy in Daegu, South Korea

Beautiful heart-shaped leaves in Daegu, South Korea.  I love the color and texture of these.  I feel like they can’t decide whether they’re dead or alive, or whether it’s spring or fall.

Bonus word: leap (to celebrate leap year)

an Omani boy leaps into one of the many pools at Wadi Bani Khalid in Oman

This is at one of the many wadis in Oman, specifically Wadi Bani Khalid.  It’s always hot in Oman, so these pools are really refreshing.  This Omani boy leaps in for a swim at one of the many pools.  Ahhh, sweet relief.

Happy LEAP YEAR!!

