Tags

,

Friday, November 4:  The nights in Nizwa are beautiful nowadays, so in the last week I’ve slept with my windows open and a lovely breeze wafting through my bedroom.  Last night in particular this made for a serene sleep conducive to dreams.

my fun-loving and adventurous son Adam

my fun-loving and adventurous son Adam

In the last week, I have been expecting with great anticipation a package from my family in the USA. It will mainly consist of some Ecco hiking sandals, some books and DVDs I had to remove from my suitcases because they were over the weight limit, some clothes from my own wardrobe back home that I now know would be perfect here, plus some purchases I made online from my favorite store in the USA, anthropologie.  People who know me know that anthropologie is my dream store and even my being located on the other side of the planet will not keep me from purchasing clothes from this amazingly cool shop.

anthropologie: my favorite store in the USA

anthropologie: my favorite store in the USA

All week I have been expecting this package and going by the Birkat al Mouz post office to check and see if maybe it has arrived and they have forgotten to call me. I was really hoping to have it before I went to Jordan, especially for the Ecco hiking sandals.  But alas, Thursday was the last day of the week for the post office and it did not arrive.  I leave for Muscat later this morning (Friday) and fly out early Saturday to Jordan. So I will have to do without my long-awaited treasures.

adam and our border collie, bailey

adam and our border collie, bailey

Lately I have also been thinking a lot about the planned visit of my youngest son Adam to Oman.  I’m thinking that in January, when we have our semester break, the weather and all other conditions should be go for his visit.

SO. Put all that together and I guess my mind concocted this strange little dream.

Adam standing, Alex in the foreground

Adam standing, Alex in the foreground

In this dream, I am in my office at the university and suddenly, right before closing time, three Omani men wearing the dishdasha burst into my office with a good-size package.  I have given up hope on getting it, so I jump when they walk in and cry out, “Oh my god! It’s here!” The men in dishdasha leave as quickly as they came, and I hear a baby crying.  I suddenly remember that my son Adam was going to sneak into Oman in the package!  Why he would do this I have no idea as it is perfectly easy to get into Oman.  I open the package as quickly as possible, pulling out all the clothes and the Ecco sandals and more clothes and flinging them around my office.  I still hear the baby crying.  At the bottom of the box are the heavy books and the DVDs and I think, poor Adam, he’s probably crushed under all these books!  But there is nothing at the bottom.  I still hear the crying, so I turn over the package and there is a zipper pocket on the bottom of the box.  By this time the crying has stopped. I pull open the zipper carefully and see the baby version of Adam.  His face is all swollen and bruised.  As I pull the zipper to the bottom, suddenly Adam morphs into his 6’2″ 18-year-old self and says, “Never again!” I say, “Adam, why on earth did you do this?  Whose idea was this?  Your dad’s or yours?”  He says, “Mine, of course.  I thought it would be a cool adventure.”

Adam, me and Alex at Deep Creek Lake this summer.  Alex came to visit me in Korea last year.

Adam, me and Alex at Deep Creek Lake this summer. Alex came to visit me in Korea last year.

Insane.  This captures my son in a nutshell.  He is always game to try some crazy stunt just for the adventure of it.  Lately Adam’s dad tells me Adam and my other son, Alex, have been hiking up Old Rag in the Shenandoah Mountains in their bare feet. The Old Rag hike is a 6-7 hour hike, so to do it in their bare feet is, simply, crazy. When they get to the top, they spend a couple of hours scrambling around on the sheer rocks then hike back down in their bare feet.  This is Adam.  I know that these kinds of ideas are always his.  I really can’t wait for him to come to Oman because I’m sure he’ll want to try every kind of adventure available here.

me with all my children: Alex, Sarah and Adam down in front, me in back

me with all my children: Alex, Sarah and Adam down in front, me in back

It’s crazy how a person’s mind puts together all the things in one’s subconscious to write these strange dream stories. Dreams seem so fantastical, yet when you look at all the things happening in your life, there you see the dream as a mirror of your life.  Funny this.  And quite astounding, the human mind.

