Tags

,

Thursday, June 13:  This evening, I extend an open invitation to teachers from the Foundation Institute who aren’t already on their summer holiday to come over for an open house sale of my “stuff” and a farewell gathering.  It turns out that not that many people come, but the people who do are the ones who matter the most to me.  Tahira makes a salad, Anna makes paella, and Fouzia makes a wonderful carrot cake to which everyone becomes quickly addicted.  I mostly just bring stuff from the deli at Lulu and of course, as I do at every party I’ve ever hosted, I buy way too much, especially for the number of people who come.

my entryway... Welcome!

my entryway… Welcome!

food spread starts to grow

food spread starts to grow

For sale! and partially packed boxes (so exciting!)

For sale! and partially packed boxes (so exciting!)

the beginnings of packing

the beginnings of packing

Living room

Living room

Living room/study :-)

Living room/study :-)

I actually prefer an intimate party to a loud boisterous one, although it’s great when we have some boisterousness in a small group.  We all sit around together and talk and eat, and only at the end do a couple of people walk out with my goods, namely Anna, who buys the best coffee table I have ever owned for 20 rials. I am sad to have to leave it behind, but it is way too big to ship, especially with the exorbitant shipping costs from Oman to America.

goodbye to my beloved coffee table

goodbye to my beloved coffee table

my bedroom

my bedroom

Last shots of my house before people take off with my stuff

Last shots of my house before people take off with my stuff

In attendance are Fouzia and her son Yassim, Tahira and Lynnette, Malcolm, Mario, Anna, and Robin.  We mostly tell funny stories about our students and the university and our colleagues.  All good for a few (or more) laughs.  I will really miss these kind-hearted and humorous folks who have become my friends during my time at the fabulous University of Nizwa. :-)

Robin

Robin

Malcolm

Malcolm

Anna chews on a plastic cup

Anna chews on a plastic cup

At this point I still have two more weeks in Oman, and in the next week I need to finish packing all my stuff to ship by cargo to the good old USA.

