Friday, November 30: I started my first blog in March 2010, when I moved to Korea to teach English as a Second Language (catbird in korea).  This was my first time living and working outside the United States and I simply wanted to document my experience living abroad.  In my first year of blogging, I had only 11,000 hits on my blog, which I thought was a lot. Since that time, I have written nine different blogs about all my travels, with a blog for each country.  I have a blog with some short stories (land of make-believe) and a blog about my life in America (catbird in america).  But my current blog about my life as an ESL teacher in Nizwa, Oman, which I began in August, 2011, has had more hits than I ever thought possible, over 90,000!  I never thought I would ever have so many readers click on my blog!  I am thankful to all of you who take the time to join me in my adventures as an expat living in Oman.

http://adinparadise.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/blog-of-year.jpg?w=593I was pleasantly surprised three times in the last three weeks to be nominated by Sylvia, of Another Day in Paradise, for the Blog of the Year 2012 Award.  I think this was probably an accident, but she actually nominated me THREE times for this award (Blog of the Year 2012 – Twinkle twinkle and Tasting stars****** Blog of the Year 2012 Award. and Blog of 2012 Award.), enabling me (at least the way I see it!) to add three stars to my award.  Unlike Sylvia, who received the award numerous times from many DIFFERENT bloggers, I only received it three times from ONE blogger.  I’m thankful that I at least have one fan who thinks my blog is worthy of an award three times over! :-)

The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/   and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…http://thethoughtpalette.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/boty-3star.jpg?w=252&h=216

Here are my nominations:

Sylvia of Another Day in Paradise  *** :-)  Thanks for being one of my biggest fans, as I am one of yours!

Ioanna of LifeportOfolio

Lynne of On the go with Lynne

Frizztext of Flickr Comments

The Wanderlust Gene

Gilly of Lucid Gypsy

Carol of Wanderings of an Elusive Mind

Dallas of Crazy Train to Tinky Town

Elaine of i used to be indecisive

Heather of artist. hippie. cali chic.

Robin of Life in the Bogs

Marco of RESISTANCE IS CHARACTER FORMING

Jo of restlessjo ~ roaming, at home and abroad

Julie of Julie Dawn Fox in Portugal

Dave and Aly of Algarve Blog

Marianne of East of Málaga

Tahira of tahira’s shenanigans

Lisa of Zeebra Designs & Destinations ~ An Artist’s Eyes Never Rest

Elisa of Eat, travel, photograph

If I didn’t get to everyone, I’m sure I will get to you next time around ~ if there is a next time. :-)

